Michigan Bestseller list for July 2017

ALL BOOKS FOR JULY 2017

1) Daniel Silva, “House of Spies” (HarperCollins Publishers)

2) Patricia Polacco, “The Blessing Cup: A Companion to The Keeping Quilt” (Paula Wiseman Books/Simon & Schuster)

3) Karen Dionne, “The Marsh King’s Daughter: A Novel” (G.P. Putnam’s Sons)

4) Patricia Polacco, “Meteor!” (Puffin Books/Penguin Books)

5) Patricia Polacco, “The Keeping Quilt” (Paula Wiseman Books/Simon & Schuster)

6) Patricia Polacco, “Just in Time, Abraham Lincoln: A chilling journey through time to the Civil War” (Puffin Books/Simon & Schuster)

7) Ann Patchett, “Commonwealth: A Novel” (HarperCollins Publishers)

8) Patricia Polacco, “Thank You, Mr. Falker” (Philomel Books/Penguin Books)

9) Julie Buntin, “Marlena: A Novel” (Henry Holt and Co./Macmillan)

10) Colleen Coble, “Beneath Copper Falls: A Rock Harbor Novel” (HarperCollins Publishers)Screen Shot 2017-08-23 at 11.18.54 AM

U.P. FOR JULY 2017

1) Karen Dionne, “The Marsh King’s Daughter: A Novel” (G.P. Putnam’s Sons)

2) Colleen Coble, “Beneath Copper Falls: A Rock Harbor Novel” (HarperCollins Publishers)

3) Roxane Gay, “Hunger: A Memoir of (My) Body” (HarperCollins Publishers)

4) Kath Usitalo, “100 Things to Do in the Upper Peninsula Before You Die” (Reedy Press)

5) Adam Schuitema, “The Things We Do That Make No Sense: Stories” (Switchgrass Books)

6) John Smolens, “Wolf’s Mouth: A Novel” (Michigan State University Press)

7) Dan Egan, “The Death and Life of the Great Lakes” (W.W. Norton & Company)

8) Louise Erdrich,  “LaRose: A Novel” (HarperCollins Publishers)

9) Russell M. Magnaghi, “Prohibition in the Upper Peninsula: Booze & Bootleggers on the Border” (The History Press)

10) Charlie LeDuff, “Detroit: An American Autopsy” (Penguin Books) [tie]

10) Ronald Riekki, “And Here: 100 Years of Upper Peninsula Writing, 1917-2017” (Michigan State University Press) [tie]

The Michigan Bestseller List for July 2017 lists books about Michigan topics, written by Michigan authors, and/or published by Michigan publishers, compiled by Ron Riekki from fifteen Michigan bookstores: Bookbug in Kalamazoo, www.bookbugkalamazoo.com; Brilliant Books in Traverse City, http://www.brilliant-books.net/; Dog Ears Books in Northport,www.dogearsbooks.net/; Island Bookstore in Mackinaw City and on Mackinac Island, http://www.islandbookstore.com/; Kazoo Books in Kalamazoo,http://www.kazoobooks.com/; Michigan News Agency in Kalamazoo, www.michigannews.biz/; Nicola’s Books in Ann Arbor, nicolasbooks.com; North Wind Books in Hancock, https://bookstore.finlandia.edu/; Pages Bookshop in Detroit, www.pagesbkshop.com/; Saturn Booksellers in Gaylord, www.saturnbooksellers.com; Schuler Books & Music in Grand Rapids, Lansing, and Okemos, schulerbooks.com; and Snowbound Books in Marquette, http://www.snowboundbooks.com/.