Help choose the new poet laureate of Michigan’s Upper Peninsula

You can help choose the next Poet Laureate of the Upper Peninsula! In 2017, a new Poet Laureate of the U.P. will be named for a two-year term. To serve as Laureate, the nominee must have a strong connection to the Upper Peninsula and agree to promote an appreciation of poetry and the region during their tenure. 

The final nominees for Poet Laureate of the U.P. were chosen by the public; out of a list of 17 names, the following six received the majority of votes. Congrats to all!

Martin Achatz

Sally Brunk
Kathleen Heideman
Kathleen Carlton Johnson
Beverly Matherne
Saara Myrene Raappana

The new Poet Laureate will be selected by public vote, as well. Check back soon for the start of the official voting period at